Printable Version

Taking a Look at the Latter Half of 2017
By Alex Foltz
Jan 8, 2018, 09:31

Mike Mattly was hired as the new head football coach, with Josh Knutson hired as the assistant coach.
Brandon Doughan was hired as the head boys basketball coach and secondary physical education and health teacher.
The following were also hired as teachers: Beth Rykhoek, secondary math, Megan Alley, preschool teacher, Deb Jones, second grade, Casey Edwards, secondary English, Sarah Hoover, junior high reading, Ashley Reed, tutor/interventionist, Ashley Hysell and Emalie Jones, kindergarten.
Molly Carpenter was hired as a first grade teacher.
Wayne Community High School and Junior High became Unified Champion Schools.
Dr. Stephanie Mahan, D.O., began practicing at the South Central Iowa Medical Clinic in Corydon.
Clayton Merritt received the DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses.
WAYCO Arts Children’s Theater performed The Wizard of Oz.
Keith West and Miss Kitty Marie performed a magic show at the Wayne County Fair.
Wayne County Fair Royalty: Queen Baylee Andrews, Princess Jaylee Moore and Prince Grant Halferty.
Leroy and Pat Perkins were selected to serve as the 2017 Iowa State Fair Parade Marshals.
Wayne and Marilyn Jackson were named the 2017 Corydon Old Settlers of the Year.
Andrew and Mary Goben were named the 2017 Corydon Young Settlers of the Year.
Wayne County Hospital and Clinic Systems welcomed Dr. Earle M. Pescatore, Jr., DO, MHA, FACOG, FPMRS, as a new staff member.
Jared Chambers won the Iowa State Champion Auctioneers Contest at the Iowa State Fair.
Ludlow’s Steakhouse re-opened with new owners, Truett and Sheena Pershy.
Wayne County Farm Bureau celebrated 100 years.
Dan Carpenter and Mandi Goretska were elected as new Wayne Community School Board members.
The Prairie Trails Museum celebrated 75 years.
Wayne Community School Homecoming Royalty: Princess Brynlee Swan, Prince Tucker Lain, Queen Haylee Fortune and King Lane Kunzie.
Kate (Adams) Emerson, BSN, RN, was appointed Chief Nursing Officer at WCHCS.
Iowa Select Farms withdrew their construction permit, citing lack of adequate water access and availability.
Donna Donald received the Award for Distinguished Service in Extension from Iowa State University, the highest award for an extension professional.
Elbert (Pid) Pidcock turned 100 years young.
Kara Urlis-Comer, BSN, RN, joined WCHCS as the Director of Community Relations and Clinical Support.
Wayne Community School District Superintendent Dave Daughton was nominated for the 2017-18 Iowa Superintendent of the Year.
Amy Ewing, Brandon Gassman, Chey Homman, Sarah Kelly and Morgan Knust received the American FFA Degree, the highest degree a member of the FFA can receive.
The Mark A. Nessen Memorial Pharmacy Scholarship was awarded for the first time. Allison Russell of Oskaloosa received the scholarship.
Joella Perry was hired as the new Veterans’ Service Officer for Wayne County.
Master Sergeant Amy Carpenter returned from deployment in Puerto Rico following Hurricane Maria.
An arrest of Ethan Landon Davis was made on the homicide of Curtis Ross.
The Association of Iowa Fairs named Burton Prunty “Fairman of the Year”.
Ricky Snow was crowned Little Mister Saint Nick.
Faith Carr was crowned Little Miss Merry Christmas.

Copyright © 2004 - present